• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 farginicehole

farginicehole

Varminter

• 488 posts
  • Local time: 02:04 AM

Posted 10 November 2003 - 04:37 AM

I have a Bushmaster Varminter that only has about 50 rounds through it. During this barrel break-in period, I'm shooting some pretty cheap (but still made in USA) 52-grain hollowpoint ammo. Using the 5-rd clip it came with, basically to suppress my urge to empty one of my 30-rd clips without cleaning per the break-in instructions, I've found it jams almost every time on the 2nd to the last round left in the clip. When this happens, the bullet gets pushed back into the cartridge against the powder. Anyone else have this problem? I'm wondering if it's due to the cheap ammo, or maybe the thing just needs to "wear in" a little. Probably a combination of both I suppose, but sure an annoying problem. On a positive note though, the thing sure is a shooter! My friends, and none of us are serious varmint hunters YET, are all amazed at how tightly it groups even with inexpensive ammo.

#2 RSCAR

RSCAR

Sniper

• 3,185 posts
  • Interests:All things firearms, Offshore ocean fishing, making my wife happy and enjoying my life, annoying people

Posted 10 November 2003 - 06:45 PM

Farg, is the bullet above or below the chamber. Probably does need more breakin use better ammo and a 10 or 20 rd mag[ sometimes the 30s' are not the best feeders either] Boy , I wish I'd have got a good shooter out of the box!!!...RSCAR have fun with the new rig! :D

#3 flatlander

flatlander

Sniper

• 3,037 posts
  • Local time: 05:04 AM

Posted 10 November 2003 - 07:42 PM

my buddy mckinney had feeding failures similar to yours. He sent the clip for exchange and the problem went away, so that's my guess, too.

but have ya tried spitt'n in it?

flatlander :D

#4 Glen Shaffer

Glen Shaffer

Varminter

• 409 posts

Posted 11 November 2003 - 02:50 AM

Use Red Man if ya do. :D Glen

#5 Red

Red

Sniper

• 13,196 posts