• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 aczraad

aczraad

Varminter

• 25 posts
  • Local time: 06:26 PM

Posted 12 January 2019 - 08:01 PM

I'm new to reloading for rifles. I have reloaded shot shells and 9mm. I'm wanting to start with.223 for varmints and predators. I have two rifles for this, a Savage axis and a win70, both 1:12. I'm leaning towards 50gr, but smaller would be great too. Anyone out there with ideas on bullets, powders, etc. I've been all over the net and have two manuals, so I have good starting references, but looking for real world experience. Thank you in advance for any pointers

#2 Capitol

Capitol

Varminter

• 50 posts

Posted 13 January 2019 - 11:23 AM

I load 50 grain Nosler Lead Free bullets with 25 grains of Varget. They are loaded for an AR15 so I dont pay to much attention to COAL, but mine are set at 2.24. You are loading for bolt guns, so you will want to work on COAL a bit. I get true 100 yard MOA with that load.

I pretty much stay with Varget and H4895 because they are less temperature sensitive then other powders. I shoot in 20 degrees in the winter and 90 degrees in the summer.

Hope that helps,

#3 aczraad

aczraad

Varminter

• Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted 13 January 2019 - 11:28 AM

Capital, that does help because I was leaning towards W748, with varget being another good option. I shoot in weather swings as well from 40s to 100+, did not know about temp sensitivity of powder

#4 Alan

Alan

Varminter

• 366 posts
  • Local time: 07:26 PM
  • Interests:Set the example... Don't be one

Posted 13 January 2019 - 05:59 PM

Nowadays, most of my shooting is via airguns. In general, airguns are a bit more finicky about the twist rate vs. the projectiles weight and overall length.