• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Tetroniker

Tetroniker

Varminter

• 29 posts
  • Local time: 07:37 AM

Posted 12 January 2019 - 12:41 PM

So I see a lot of people like to use shooting sticks. The only problem is I don't have much moolah as I'm a student, and hike to most of my locations which means the shooting sticks need to be very portable.

I made a pair out of 3/8 fiberglass rod. 3/8 rod is commonly used in electric fence posts, and is very cheap. However, I made mine out of "driveway markers" which I got at Canadian Tire. They were 58" long, so I had to cut them down. Came in at $8 Canadian each.

https://www.canadian...03330p.html#spc

I purchased a bunch of camo paracord from Michael's for about $8.

I spray painted the rods brown, used a cobra stitch for the tops where the rifle rests, and used a prusik knot to tie them together. :) This is how it turned out:

Shooting Sticks.jpg

Total cost was around $24 plus tax Canadian. :)

Edited by Tetroniker, 13 January 2019 - 08:40 AM.

• Old Hickory likes this

#2 Red

Red

Sniper

• 16,079 posts

Posted 12 January 2019 - 06:11 PM

Very good. I used homemade sticks for years. A few years ago I bought some adjustable length sticks and yeah they cost a little more but I've been very happy because of the easy height adjustment.

Similar to these,

https://www.amazon.c...5c-e1c90619d9c3

Edited by Red, 12 January 2019 - 06:14 PM.

• Tetroniker likes this

Protector of the nuts.

#3 Tetroniker

Tetroniker

Varminter

• Topic Starter
  • 29 posts

Posted 13 January 2019 - 08:39 AM

Very good. I used homemade sticks for years. A few years ago I bought some adjustable length sticks and yeah they cost a little more but I've been very happy because of the easy height adjustment.

Similar to these,

https://www.amazon.c...5c-e1c90619d9c3

Do you find them heavy? Would they be easy to hike long distances with?

#4 Red

Red

Sniper

• 16,079 posts

Posted 13 January 2019 - 01:34 PM