• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 badcopnodonut!!

badcopnodonut!!

Varminter

• 18 posts
  • Local time: 11:29 PM

Posted 01 January 2007 - 04:31 PM

I have no experience with the ackley improved but a friend just had a t/c encore barrel rechambered in 22-250 A.I. and raves about it. My questions are: what are the ballistic advantages, disadvantages such as barrel wear, muzzle blast, velocity ect. I have a rem 700 sps in 22-250 that shoots a 40 gr v-max VERY well @ 3400 fps thru my chrony. I am not against spending $ to improve performance but.......... Any information will be appreciated.

#2 Red

Red

Sniper

• 13,302 posts
  • Local time: 01:29 AM

Posted 01 January 2007 - 04:45 PM

You're only getting 3400fps with a 40 grain bullet in a 22-250? That's 223 velocity. You could easily attain 3900fps or more without pushing the envelope.

Thers's not a huge advantage over the factory round as far as velocity goes. 100-200 fps, about like a 220Swift. Not enough for critters to notice. The case design does not stretch like the factory 22-250 and has less bolt thrust. So, less case trimming, longer bolt lug life. More powder, less barrel life.

IMO, there's no reason to go to the Ackley design over the 22-250 unless you were rebarreling anyway, then it's not a bad idea. And when comparing groups with your buddy remember that the Ackley was chambered in a custom barrel, not a factory tube. Another thing to consider is the Ackley may not feed reliably from a magazine.

WAIT!, You say your buddy had a barrel "rechambered"? Unless it was set back (shortened at the breech and rechambered), it's not a true Ackley chamber.

Edited by Red, 01 January 2007 - 04:47 PM.

When I was a boy I was told that anybody could become President; I'm beginning to believe it. ~Clarence Darrow~

#3 JP 2 Alpha

JP 2 Alpha

Varminter

• 626 posts
  • Local time: 02:29 AM